Debritto Higher Secondary School

Devakottai, Sivagangai District-630302

About Page

Home - About Page

About Our school

A platinum jubilee School






Old Students

Footprints (1943 to till date)

    Year Details
    1940 24 acre land purchased by Rev.Fr.Bonoure, S.J
    1941 Construction of Chapel, Residence, High School, Britto hostel Buildings
    1942 Government Recognition got
    1943 High School Commenced
    1944 Temporary Recognition got
    1947 Permanent Recognition obtained
    1948 25 Students wrote SSLC Exam
    1978 Upgraded to Higher Secondary
    1993 Golden Jubilee
    2003 Diamond Jubilee
    2008 English Medium started
    2014 Tagore Hall built
    2014 New Entrance Erected
    2018 Platinum Jubilee
    2020 New road was laid in the campus
  • Jesuits
  • Rev. Fr. Vincent Amalraj SJ Superior
  • Rev. Bro. Victor Paul Sengolraj SJ Minister
  • Rev.Fr.P.Arockia Samy ,S.J Headmaster
  • Rev.Fr. S. Babu Vincent Raja, S.J. Procurator
  • Rev. Fr. Cyril Antony Samy SJ Director, Gansoville
  • Rev. Fr. Valan Arasu, S.J Co- Director, Britto Hostel
  • Rev.Fr. Martin George S.J Teacher
  • Sch. Salamon Joseph Praveen SJAsst Director, Britto Hostel
Jesuits in School
  • Rev. Fr. M. Vincent Amalraj SJ


  • Fr. P. Arockiasamy SJ

    Head Master

  • Rev. Fr. Babu Vincent Raja SJ


  • Rev. Fr. Fr. Valan Arasu, S.J

    Co- Director, Britto Hostel

Former Headmasters
# Former Headmasters Year
1 Rev.Fr.A.M.Chockiah, S.J 1943-46
2 Rev.Fr. JB.Arul Jegannathan, S.J 1946-47
3 Rev.Fr. AR.Doraiswamy, S.J 1947-51
4 Rev.Fr. Albert Machado, S.J 1951-58
5 Rev.Fr. Dominic Diaz, S.J 1958-62
6 Rev.Fr. M.J.Antonisamy, S.J 1962-65
7 Rev.Fr. X.S.Thangadurai, S.J 1965-71
8 Rev.Fr. TM.Mathai, S.J   1971-81
9 Rev.Fr.K.S.Arulanandam, S.J 1981-82
10 Rev.Fr. P.Arockiaraj, S.J 1982-85
11 Rev.Fr.J.M.Lourduraj, S.J              1985-88
12 Rev.Fr.D.Henry Amirtharaj, S.J   1988-91
13 Rev.Fr.A.Felix Joseph, S.J 1991-93
14 Rev.Fr.A.Maria Sigamani, S.J 1993-94
15 Rev.Fr.J.Fernandez, S.J 1994-00
16 Rev.Fr.Antony Arockiam, S.J        2000-04
17 Rev.Fr.Y.S.Yagoo, S.J      2004-05
18 Rev.Br.Kulandairaj, S.J 2005-06
19 Rev.Fr.John Gualbert, S.J 2006-07
20 20. Rev.Fr.A.Wilson , S.J 2007-11
21 Rev.Fr.N.Ignatius Britto, S.J 2011-13
22 Rev.Fr.Y.S.Yagoo,S.J 2013-15
23 Rev.Fr.V.Augustin John Peter,S.J 2015-18

Britto Hostel

Britto Hostel was started in 1943. A boarding with 20 Hindu boys and a hostel for 80 Christian boys were started in the following year on June 13th. They were named Britto Hostel and Loyola Hostel respectively. With a view of creating unity among the boys, both the Hostels were amalgamated in 1989. The strength gradually increased and the present strength is 1030. Britto Junior Hostel for 6-8 boys was constructed in 2013 at a cost of rupees 1 crore. More than 27 Jesuit priests have acted as Hostel Directors. Special efforts are taken both in academic and non academic levels. Most of the school sportsmen are from the Hostel. Remarkable Alumni of this prestigious Hostel are Shri.Justice Murugesan, Shri.Malaisamy, Shri.Tamilkudimagan and so on.

Director Rev. Fr. M. Vincent Amalraj SJ
Co Director Rev. Fr. Valan Arasu SJ
Asst Director Sch. Salamon Joseph Praveen SJ
Students’ Counsellor Rev. Fr. M. Vincent Amalraj SJ
Mess in-charge Rev. Bro. Victor Paul Sengole SJ
Accountant  Mr.Panneer Selvam
Electrician Mr.Karunaidas
Kitchen Staff









Sister Concern


  • St.Mary’s Hr.Sec.School, Dindigul.
  • St.Mary’s Hr.Sec.School, Madurai.
  • St.Francis Xavier Hr.Sec.School, Tuticorin.
  • St.Xavier’s Hr.Sec.School, Palayamkottai.
  • St.Arulanandar Hr.Sec.School, Oriyur.
  • St.Joseph’s College Hr.Sec.School, Trichy.
  • Carmel Hr.Sec.School, Nagercoil.


  • St.Joseph’s College, Trichy.
  • St.Xavier’s College, Palayamkottai.
  • Arulanandar College, Karumathur.
  • St.Xavier’s College of Education, Palayamkottai.

Technical Institute

  • Loyola Industrial Training Institute, Madurai.